Asia-Pasific Economic Cooperation

Asia-Pasific Economic Cooperation (as known as APEC) is an international organization consists of 21 countries that has coast to Pacific Ocean. It was established in 1989 in Australia due to the concerns of Japan's domination on economics and in response to the growing interdependent economies in the region. Currently, APEC aims to support sustainable economic growth, promote free trade through the Asia-Pasific region and represents around %60 of the world economy.

An APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting helds every year and attended by the heads of governments of the member countries. Location of the meeting rotates in between the member countries and as a tradition, leaders get dressed in traditional clothes of the the host country.

Asia-Pasific Economic Cooperation
Agenda Item 1: Women's Economic Empowerment
Agenda Item 2: Combatting Corruption and Ensurement of Transparency
Study Guide