The United Nations General Assembly

The United Nations General Assembly (hereinafter: UNGA) is one of the 6 principal organs of the UN. Founded back in 1945, the General Assembly is the main policy making and representative organ. Also it is the only place in UN that all member states have equal representation with 193 seats in UNGA. Furthermore, UNGA may allocate observer status to an international organisation or to a non governmental organisation, though with limitations. General Assembly focuses on security and peace, admission and budgetary concerns.

Climate change, directly related with science,is laden with politics and economic complexity. As the secretariat of MUNIST, we chose to simulate the creation of the Kyoto Protocol. Countries have met annually since 1995 and debated to pass climate agreements but scientists are concerned that it may be too late. In this committee delegates will be transported back to 1997. The Protocol was the first international treaty to restrict greenhouse gas emission. Under this treaty, countries must meet their demands primarily to national measures. Delegates will have the chance to debate on climate issues in hopes of finding convenient solutions for profitable debate.

The United Nations General Assembly
Agenda Item 1: Kyoto Protocol
Agenda Item 2: Rwandan Genocide
Study Guide